Lawyer Profile

Chetan Phull

Associate Lawyer, Data Privacy and Cybersecurity Law Group

Deloitte Legal Canada LLP

Chetan Phull

Chetan Phull is a technology lawyer in the Data Privacy and Cybersecurity Law Group at Deloitte Legal. He is also a Certified Information Privacy Professional (Canada & US).

Before joining Deloitte Legal, Chetan was the Principal Lawyer of Smartblock Law P.C., where he worked on cutting edge legal issues in privacy, blockchain, SaaS/PaaS, virtual asset disputes, and fintech regulatory advocacy.

Chetan's experience also includes litigation, in private practice and in-house for a financial institution, spanning issues relating to technology, regulatory compliance, and insurance. His litigation experience includes trials, applications, motions, and appeals, with upwards of $40 million in dispute.

Prior to beginning his legal career, Chetan clerked for the Nova Scotia Court of Appeal. He holds a Juris Doctor from Queen's University, and a Master of Laws from University College London. He also has a Bachelor of Music from the University of Toronto.

Publication and Speeches

Chetan is the author of Big Data Law in Canada, an 11-chapter book that critically examines various areas of law affecting data-driven enterprises.

He has also authored several compilations and articles on blockchain and virtual asset regulation, spanning securities, commercial transactions, banking, taxation, digital asset litigation, and decentralized liability.

Chetan also has publications appearing in the Journal of International Arbitration, and the Journal of International Banking Law & Regulation. In addition, his work has been translated into Thai by the Thai Arbitration Institute.

Chetan has delivered seminars on privacy and blockchain laws for the Ontario Bar Association, Osgoode Professional Development, the Medical Group Management Association of Canada, the BlockchainHub at York University, and the Government of Dubai Legal Affairs Department. He has spoken at numerous industry events including the MPWR Crypto Mining Summit, Futurist Conference, DEFCON Toronto, and Cyber Tech & Risk.

Chetan Phull

Profil

Chetan Phull

Avocat adjoint, Droit de la confidentialité des données et de la cybersécurité

Deloitte Cabinet d’avocats S.E.N.C.R.L./s.r.l.

Chetan Phull

Chetan Phull pratique le droit de la technologie au sein du groupe Droit de la confidentialité des données et de la cybersécurité de Deloitte Legal, Cabinet d’avocats. Il possède l’accréditation de Certified Information Privacy Professional (Canada et États-Unis).

Avant de se joindre à Deloitte Legal, M. Phull était l’avocat principal du cabinet Smartblock Law P.C., où il a travaillé sur des questions de pointe concernant la protection de la vie privée, la chaîne de blocs, les logiciels-services et les plateformes-services, les différends autour d’actifs virtuels et la réglementation des technologies financières.

L’expérience de M. Phull porte aussi sur le règlement de litiges, en pratique privée et en entreprise pour une institution financière, et il couvre des problèmes liés aux technologies, à la conformité réglementaire et à l’assurance. Son expérience dans ce domaine comprend des procès, des requêtes, des motions et des appels, pour des litiges pouvant atteindre 40 millions de dollars.

Avant d’entreprendre sa carrière dans le domaine juridique, M. Phull a travaillé comme greffier à la cour d’appel de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Il est titulaire d’un doctorat en jurisprudence (J.D.) de l’Université Queen’s et d’une maîtrise en droit de la University College London (UCL). Il détient en outre un baccalauréat en musique de l’Université de Toronto.

Publications et conférences

M. Phull est l’auteur du livre Big Data Law in Canada, un ouvrage de 11 chapitres qui examine rigoureusement de quelle manière différents domaines du droit affectent les entreprises axées sur les données.

Il a également rédigé plusieurs compilations et articles sur la réglementation de la chaîne de blocs et des actifs virtuels (en anglais seulement) portant sur les valeurs mobilières, les transactions commerciales, les services bancaires, la fiscalité, les litiges sur les actifs numériques et la responsabilité décentralisée.

M. Phull a également publié des articles dans le Journal of International Arbitration et le Journal of International Banking Law & Regulation. De plus, son travail a été traduit en thaï par l’Institut thaïlandais d’arbitrage.

Chetan Phull