Lawyer Profile

Mike Collinge

Deloitte Legal Canada LLP

Partner | Tax Law

Mike Collinge

Mike is a partner in the Toronto office of Deloitte Legal Canada LLP. His practice is primarily focused on tax litigation and tax controversy. He was admitted to the Law Society of Ontario in 2012 after receiving his Juris Doctor from the University of Toronto Faculty of Law and completing a clerkship at the Tax Court of Canada.

Mike has successfully represented clients in a wide variety of domestic and international tax disputes involving the Canada Revenue Agency and the provincial tax authorities, and in litigation proceedings in the Tax Court of Canada, the Federal Court and the Federal Court of Appeal. Mike regularly assists clients by filing notices of objection with the tax authorities, responding to complex audits, and conducting court proceedings to dispute tax assessments. Representative recent engagements include the following:

  • Successful resolution of a Tax Court appeal involving reassessments totaling approximately $550 million that were issued to a Fortune Global 500 company in connection with a share valuation issue.
  • Successful application for judicial review to challenge a decision by the CRA denying the retroactive revocation of an election by a major Canadian insurance company.
  • Successful Tax Court appeal involving the existence of a partnership that was created by a member of the S&P/TSX 60.
  • Successful resolution of notices of objection to dispute reassessments totaling approximately $150 million that were issued to a Fortune Global 500 company on the basis that an instrument should be characterized as equity rather than debt.
  • Currently representing a venture capital company in a Tax Court appeal involving the application of the GAAR to a so-called “loss trading” transaction.
  • Currently assisting an offshore trust that has filed notices of objection to dispute reassessments that were issued in connection with a residency issue.

Memberships and Professional Affiliations

Education

  • University of Toronto Faculty of Law: J.D. (2011)
  • University of Victoria: B.A. (Hons.) (2005, with distinction)
  • Chartered Professional Accountants of Canada (CPA) In-Depth Tax Course, Parts I, II and III
Mike Collinge

Profil

Mike Collinge, B.A., J.D.

Deloitte Legal Canada, Cabinet d’avocats S.E.N.C.R.L. / s.r.l.

Associé | Droit fiscal

Mike Collinge, B.A., J.D.

Mike est un associé au bureau de Toronto de Deloitte Legal Canada, Cabinet d’avocats S.E.N.C.R.L./s.r.l. Il se spécialise dans les litiges et les différends fiscaux. Il a été admis au Barreau de l’Ontario en 2012 après avoir reçu son juris doctor de la faculté de droit de l’Université de Toronto et avoir terminé un stage à la Cour canadienne de l’impôt.

Mike a représenté avec succès des clients dans divers litiges fiscaux nationaux et internationaux impliquant l’Agence du revenu du Canada et les autorités fiscales provinciales, et dans des actions en justice à la Cour canadienne de l’impôt, à la Cour fédérale et à la Cour d’appel fédérale. Mike aide régulièrement les clients en produisant des avis d’opposition auprès des autorités fiscales, en répondant à des audits complexes et en régissant la conduite de procédures pour contester des avis de cotisation. Ses récentes missions de représentation incluent celles-ci :

  • Résolution favorable d’un appel auprès de la Cour de l’impôt portant sur de nouvelles cotisations totalisant approximativement 550 millions de dollars qui avaient été émises à une société du palmarès Fortune Global 500 relativement à un problème d’évaluation d’action.
  • Demande favorable d’une révision judiciaire pour contester une décision de l’ARC refusant la révocation rétroactive d’un choix par une importante compagnie d’assurances canadienne.
  • Conclusion favorable d’un appel auprès de la Cour de l’impôt portant sur l’existence d’une société de personnes qui avait été créée par un membre du S&P/TSX 60.
  • Résolution favorable d’avis d’opposition visant à contester de nouvelles cotisations totalisant environ 150 millions de dollars qui avaient été émises à une société du palmarès Fortune Global 500 au motif qu’un instrument doit être classé comme titre de capitaux propres plutôt que comme titre d’emprunt.
  • Représente actuellement une société de capital de risque dans un appel auprès de la Cour de l’impôt portant sur l’application de la RGAE à une soi disant opération de commerce de pertes.
  • Aide actuellement une fiducie étrangère qui a produit des avis d’opposition pour contester de nouvelles cotisations qui ont été émises relativement à une question de résidence.

Adhésions et affiliations professionnelles

  • Fondation canadienne de fiscalité
  • The Advocates Society

Études

  • Faculté de droit de l’Université de Toronto : J.D. (2011)
  • Université de Victoria : B.A. (spécialisé) (2005, avec distinction)
  • Comptables professionnels agréés (CPA) Canada : Cours fondamental d’impôt, Niveaux I, II et III
Mike Collinge, B.A., J.D.