Lawyer Profile

Olivier Fournier

Deloitte Legal Canada LLP

Partner, Montreal

Olivier Fournier

Olivier Fournier is the Canadian Legal Leader and leads the Montreal office of Deloitte Legal Canada LLP. Olivier practices tax law with a focus on tax litigation and tax controversy, from the audit and objection stages to tax appeals before the courts. He regularly assists clients in resolving tax disputes, both in and out of Court, and engages in managing complex tax audits, ensuring that the tax authorities operate within the lawful parameters regarding demands for information and documents and correcting non-compliance issues. He also has had significant exposure to tax planning for domestic and international mergers and acquisitions.

He has acted in matters before the Tax Court of Canada, the Court of Québec, the Superior Court of Québec, the Federal Court and the Federal Court of Appeal.

Publications and Speeches
He is a governor of the Canadian Tax Foundation (CTF), as well as an active speaker, writer and presenter at various conferences and seminars such for the Association de planification fiscale et financière (APFF) and the CTF.

Education
Olivier was called to the Bar of Québec in 2006, after receiving an MBA from the University of Ottawa (2005), and an LL.L., 2005 – magna cum laude and a B.Sc. (Biology), 2002 from the University of Ottawa.

Olivier Fournier

Profil

Olivier Fournier

Deloitte Legal Canada, Cabinet d’avocats S.E.N.C.R.L. / s.r.l.

Associé, Montréal

Olivier Fournier

Olivier Fournier est le Leader national – Services juridiques et il dirige le bureau de Deloitte Legal Canada, Cabinet d’avocats S.E.N.C.R.L. / s.r.l. à Montréal. Il pratique le droit fiscal et s'occupe plus particulièrement des litiges et de la résolution de différends fiscaux, de l'étape de la vérification aux appels devant les tribunaux. Il aide régulièrement les clients à résoudre des litiges fiscaux, tant devant les tribunaux qu’hors cour, et il conseille ses clients quant à la gestion de vérifications fiscales complexes, en veillant particulièrement à ce que les autorités fiscales agissent selon les paramètres prescrits par la loi en ce qui concerne les renseignements et les documents demandés et en rectifiant les problèmes de non-conformité. Il a aussi une bonne expérience de planification fiscale transactionnelle en matière de fusions et acquisitions à l'échelle nationale et transfrontalière.

Il a agi pour des contribuables devant la Cour canadienne de l'impôt, la Cour du Québec, la Cour supérieure du Québec, la Cour fédérale et la Cour d'appel fédérale.

Publications et conférences
Il contribue régulièrement à diverses conférences et publications à titre de conférencier et auteur auprès d'organismes tels que l'Association de planification fiscale et financière (APFF) et la Fondation canadienne de fiscalité (FCF). Il est par ailleurs un des gouverneurs de la FCF.

Études
Me Fournier a été admis au Barreau du Québec en 2006 et détient une maîtrise en administration des affaires (MBA) de l'Université d'Ottawa (2005), ainsi qu'une licence en droit (magna cum laude – 2005) et un baccalauréat en biologie de l'Université d'Ottawa (2002).

Olivier Fournier