Lawyer Profile

Joel Scheuerman

Deloitte Legal Canada LLP

Partner, Calgary

Joel Scheuerman

Joel Scheuerman is the Leader of the Tax Litigation and Controversy Practice for the Western Canada Region of Deloitte Legal Canada LLP. Joel practices tax law with a focus on tax litigation and tax controversy, from the audit and objection stages to litigation before the courts. He regularly assists clients in resolving tax disputes, both in and out of court. Joel manages complex tax audits, ensuring that the tax authorities operate within the confines of the law.

Joel also has significant experience in customs matters and represents clients in customs verifications and disputes with the Canada Border Services Agency at the administrative level and before the courts.

Publications and speeches
Joel is an active speaker, writer and presenter at the Canadian Tax Foundation and the Association de planification fiscale et financière.

Education
Joel was called to the Barreau du Québec in 2010 and is also a member of the Law Society of Saskatchewan. He has an LLB/BCL from McGill University, an MA in Political Science from McGill University and a BA in Political Science (Distinction) from the University of Alberta.

Joel Scheuerman

Profil

Joel Scheuerman

Deloitte Legal Canada, Cabinet d’avocats S.E.N.C.R.L. / s.r.l.

Associé, Calgary

Joel Scheuerman

Joel Scheuerman est le Leader de l’ouest du Canada - Litiges et différends fiscaux – chez Deloitte Legal Canada, Cabinet d’avocats S.E.N.C.R.L./ s.r.l. Il pratique en droit fiscal, plus particulièrement, en matière de règlements des litiges et des différends fiscaux. Il assiste les contribuables dès le début du processus c’est-à-dire de la vérification, à la contestation administrative, jusqu’aux appels devant les tribunaux. Il accompagne et conseille régulièrement les clients pour en arriver à un règlement de leur litige, et ce, tant devant les tribunaux que dans le cadre d’un règlement à l’amiable. Joel gère des vérifications fiscales complexes, en veillant à ce que les autorités fiscales agissent dans les limites prescrites par la loi.

Par ailleurs, Joel possède une vaste expérience en matière de litiges douaniers. À ce titre, il assiste des clients dans le cadre de vérifications d’entreprises par l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et les représente devant les tribunaux.

Publications et allocutions
Joel est conférencier, auteur et présentateur dynamique pour la Fondation canadienne de fiscalité et l’Association de planification fiscale et financière.

Études
Joel a été admis au Barreau du Québec en 2010. Il est aussi membre du Law Society of Saskatchewan. Il détient un baccalauréat en droit civil et en common law (LLB/BCL), ainsi qu’une maîtrise en sciences politiques de l’Université McGill et un baccalauréat en sciences politiques, avec distinction, de l’Université de l’Alberta.

Joel Scheuerman